

## **DISTRICT OF STEWART**

#### NOTICE OF ADVANCE VOTING AND VOTING DATES

## **PUBLIC NOTICE IS GIVEN AS FOLLOWS:**

# ADVANCE VOTING DATE AND LOCATION AND

## **ELECTION VOTING DATE OF BY-ELECTION 2024**

ONE ADVANCE VOTING OPPORTUNITY will be HELD between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.,

Wednesday, October 16, 2024 8:00 am to 8:00 pm District of Stewart Municipal Hall 705 Brightwell Street, Stewart BC

#### AND

BY-ELECTION VOTING DATE will be HELD between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.,

Saturday, October 26, 2024 8:00 am to 8:00 pm District of Stewart Municipal Hall 705 Brightwell Street, Stewart BC

#### **ELECTOR REGISTRATION**

**If you are not on the list of electors**, you may register at the time of voting by completing the application form available at the voting place and making a declaration that you meet the requirements to be registered as set out below:

### **RESIDENT ELECTORS:**

To register as a resident elector you must:

- be 18 years of age or older on general voting day October 26, 2024
- be a Canadian citizen;
- be a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration (at time of voting);
- be a resident of the District of Stewart on the day of registration (at time of voting); and
- not be disqualified under the *Local Government Act* or any other enactment from voting in an election or assent voting and not otherwise disqualified by law.

#### NON-RESIDENT PROPERTY ELECTORS:

To register as a non-resident property elector you must:

be 18 years of age or older on general voting day October 26, 2024

- be a Canadian citizen;
- be a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration (at time of voting);
- be a registered owner of real property in the District of Stewart for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration (at time of voting);
- not be entitled to register as a resident elector; and
- not be disqualified under the *Local Government Act* or any other enactment from voting in an election or assent voting and not otherwise disqualified by law.

In addition, for non-resident property electors:

- The only persons who are registered owners of the property, either as joint tenants or tenants in common, are individuals who are not holding the property in trust for a corporation or another trust.
- If more than one individual is registered owner of the property, only one of those individuals may, with the written consent of the majority of the individual owners, register as a non-resident property elector.

In addition, in order to register at time of voting:

**Resident electors** must produce **2 pieces of identification** (at least one with a signature). Picture identification is not necessary. The identification must prove both residency and identity.

**Non-resident property electors** must produce **2 pieces of identification** (at least one with a signature) to prove identity, **proof** that they are entitled to register in relation to the property, and, if there is more than one owner of the property, **written consent** from the majority of the property owners.

## TYPES OF DOCUMENTS THAT WILL BE ACCEPTED AS IDENTIFICATION

You must produce at least two (2) documents that provide evidence of your identity and place of residence, at least one (1) of which must contain your signature. The following classes of documents will be accepted:

- a) a Driver's Licence;
- b) an Identification Card such as
  - i. a photo BC services card;
  - ii. a non-photo BC services card;
- c) an Owner's Certificate of Insurance and Vehicle Licence issued by ICBC
- d) a BC CareCard or BC Gold CareCard;
- e) a Ministry of Social Development and Economic Security Request for Continued Assistance Form SDES8, (now "Monthly Form EA181);
- f) a Social Insurance Number card;
- g) a Citizenship Card;
- h) a real property tax notice;
- i) a credit card or debit card; or
- i) a utility bill, (such as electricity, natural gas, water, telephone or cable services).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION ON THESE MATTERS, please contact the Election Office Cathy Jackson, Chief Election Officer (250) 635-1907 OR Wanda Decoste or Sharon Burke Deputy Chief Election Officers (250) 636-2251